Shoot your Guru*

Last week I was working at a client site in Torrance and had a meeting after work in Santa Monica.  I plugged the address into the GPS App on my iPhone and away I went.  The route it was taking me seemed a little out-of-the-way, but I trusted that the directions were accurate and perhaps just taking a few different highways because it was rush hour.    Although it did seem odd to me that I was heading towards downtown when I needed to be going in the opposite direction and going west towards Santa Monica.

Imagine my annoyance when I reached the destination that was downtown near the Staple Center instead of in Santa Monica.  It took me almost 40 minutes to backtrack in the right direction and I was over an hour late for my appointment.

I realized how unconscious I’ve become around directions and following this little App on my phone.  I put all of my faith and trust and power in technology and completely ignored my internal GPS…my intuition…that was giving me the vibe that I needed to follow the route I thought I should, versus the one being given to me by the device.

In the circles I run in with yoga, transformational and  spiritual communities, there are many Gurus and teachers that people follow.  A Guru is considered someone of authority or a guide on one’s spiritual path. An “expert” with much knowledge to impart.  So often, we ignore our own internal GPS (that inner voice of truth) and give our power away to an external force or someone else.  Back in the 60’s and 70’s when the whole idea of having or following a Guru took off, it seemed like many people were taking their Guru’s word as gospel.  I still see this happening today.  We blindly follow and put our faith in another human being trusting and believing that  because they are a “spiritual teacher” that they know about what’s best for us better than we do.  I’ve been around some transformational and spiritual teachers who don’t practice what they preach and yet they are telling other people how to live their lives. Some have even been so reckless as to cost other people their lives because their egos got the best of them.

In this new Age of Aquarius, the day of the Guru is dead.  Each of us…has the power within us to be our own Guru.  We are all being called to awaken to ourselves. We may have guides, mentors and teachers along the way who come into our lives to offer us something and can help us awaken.  However, no one is the expert on your life except you.  Take what fits from what you are learning and leave the rest.

Ask Spirit the question you want to know.  Then tune in to the quiet, to you, to the infinite wisdom that is inside of you and listen.  When you connect with Spirit and yourself through quiet stillness and meditation, you our heart will open to gain the knowledge you seek and Spirit will respond with a quiet whisper.

Nothing is outside of you…it’s all within.

 

*Credit to Rick Springfield for the title of this piece.  It’s the title of an instumental song from his Shock/Denial/Anger/Acceptance CD.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

